Skip to main content
Add Me To Your Mailing List
HomeFrequently Asked Questions Categories

Frequently Asked Questions

Click the Category Name to expand / collapse all questions for the category. Click on an individual question to show / hide the answer for that particular question.
(click here to expand all questions)(click here to collapse all questions)
Is it OK to talk to another skater while on the ice if I am over by the hockey box or on the side of the ice?
No, if you are talking to a friend get ENTIRELY off the ice to talk. If you are talking to a coach you can be on the ice, but be as close to the wall/touching the wall when doing so. 
Can I really lose my club ice time if I am late?
Yes, if the session is full, and if you are 11 minutes or more late and if you have not written in the ice monitor book that you will be late, or had somebody else write that in for you, the ice monitor will sell your spot to the first buy-on in line.
Since we keep track of who has played their music once (to make sure everybody gets a turn on a session usually), do we need to keep track of how many times each person plays their music and put them in line accordingly?
Answer: No...If Holly is in line and has played her music 3 times and Sasha is in line behind her and has only played her music once, Sasha does not skip over Holly. It is only that first time that somebody plays music that you have to keep track of. 
Can I do a backward spiral on club ice?
Answer:
Are you in a lesson with a coach? YES
Are you doing your program with the music and a sash on? YES
Are you in a MIF session? YES
Are you just practicing your FS during club ice or running through your program without music/sash? NO!

Monitors and coaches if you see a skater doing this please correct them. 
Rule: Ensure that a skater doing their program wears the sash, but only the skater doing their program may be on the ice while wearing a sash - no "double sashing
Example:

1) Carli is skating her program with a sash on and coming to the end of her program.

2) Holly comes up to skate her program and puts a sash on. Should she do this? Probably not- as there is a chance she could get skipped/bumped; she has wasted her ice time putting on and taking off the sash and you don't want to confuse others on the ice as to who is skating their program. But, on a side note, it is probably OK to put it on towards the very end of the skater's program if you are with a coach or you know for sure you are next up to skate your program...and you are out of the way on the side of the ice waiting or talking with your coach because then we don't waste any music playing time. The most important thing is that you should not be skating out onto the ice wearing the sash until the person before you ends their program.
Rule: A skater in a lesson will only be given priority twice
Example:
1) Holly has her FS program played early in the session. She is not with a coach.

2) At a later point in the session Holly wants her FS program played again and she is with a coach. Does she get to go before the other skaters in line without coaches, even if they have not had their music played? Yes (as long as there have not been 2 coach bumps before her). Skaters in a lesson have a priority even if they played their music earlier when they were not with a coach.

3) A few minutes later Holly wants her FS program played again and she is still with a coach. Does she get to go before the other skaters in line without coaches, even if they have not had their music played? Yes (as long as there have not been 2 coach bumps before her).

4) Late in the session Holly wants her Footwork program played versus her FS program and she is still with a coach. Does she get to go before the other skaters in line without coaches? No. A skater in a lesson will only be given priority twice and it does not make a difference that it is a different song she wants played. She is now treated just like all the other skaters in line who have already played their music previously and goes to the end of the line.
Rules: Skaters requesting their music a second time will be accommodated after all skaters in line have had their music played at least once. Only two "coach bumps" in a row are allowed, then one skater from the queue will go
Example 1:
1) Holly has her FS program played early in the session. 

2) At a later point in the session Holly wants her FS program played again and she is not with a coach. 

3) At the time it is about to be played, Sarah with a coach comes along. Does Holly get her music played? No 

4) Nicole with a coach comes along. Does Holly get her music played? No 

5) Carli is not with a coach and has also gotten her CD in line, behind Holly. Does Holly get her music played? No. She has already played her music once, so Carli skips over Holly.

6) Now there are 2 more skaters with coaches in line. They also will skip over Holly as Holly needs to wait thru 2 more coach bumps.

7) While they are going, Taylor comes up who has not had her music played and she is NOT with a coach. Holly decides she wants to play her footwork music versus FS music. Does Holly go after the 2 coaches? Nope another skater goes, and then if needed 2 more coaches. It does not matter if you change music..it matters how many times you have played a CD no matter what music it is. 

8) Holly may never get her music played again as long as there are coaches and skaters who have not played their music on her session in line. Only two "coach bumps" in a row are allowed, then one skater from the queue will go.....but if there are several skaters in line, the skater who goes in between the coach bumps will be the one who has not had their music played yet. Even if Holly puts her music in line 20 minutes early, if somebody skates up with 3 minutes left in the session who has not played their music...they will jump in front of her.

Moral of the story: Tell your skaters they should not expect to have their music played more than once a session and if they are late getting in line, and not with a coach, you may not be able to even get your music played once! 








Rule: Music will be played in the order in which it is requested, except that skaters in a lesson have priority.Only two "coach bumps" in a row are allowed, then one skater from the queue will go
Example:

1) Holly has her FS program played early in the session. She is not with a coach.

2) At a later point in the session Holly wants her FS program played again.

3) At the time it is about to be played, Sarah with a coach comes along. Does Holly get her music played? No

4) Nicole with a coach comes along. Does Holly get her music played? No

5) Carli with a coach comes along. Does Holly get her music played? Yes if nobody else is in line or there is nobody in line who has not played their music yet. Only 2 coach bumps allowed. Carli will then go after Holly.
Rule: Skaters who wish to play more than one program are treated the same as a skater requesting the same program again
Example:

1) Holly has her FS program played early in the session. She is not with a coach.

2) At a later point in the session Holly wants her Footwork program played again, but Carli is in line with her first time playing her CD. Will Holly get to go because she is playing a different song? No….music is music. It does not matter if you have a bunch of songs. You need to pick what song is the most important if you want to make sure to get your music played.